## Senior and Junior Medals

Two of the prizes that are currently contested for by the members of the Verein are the Senior and Junior Medals. These medals are awarded based on the total score over the season on an Honor Target consisting of three shots each month 25 points maximum per shot. These awards are awarded for each season, winter and summer 6 months each. The Junior Medal goes to the schuetzen who scores the highest total score of those who have not yet won the Junior Medal. The Senior Medal goes to the schuetzen who scores the schuetzen who scores the highest total score of those who have already won the Junior Medal. These Medals continue a long tradition.

The first mention of the Senior Medal was in November 1897, when it was moved by Dr. Carl Matthey to create such an award. The Junior Medal is not mentioned, however, until the minutes of the following November 1898. The winners of both the Senior and Junior Medals for 1898 are reported that November using those names: 1898 is the first year that those medals were awarded. Winners of the previous Golden Medallion were treated as though they had already won the Junior Medal.

Most years a complete list of the scores of all the participants was included as a report of the Schuetzenmeister and recorded by the secretary in the minutes of the monthly meeting of the membership in November or December. Emil Berg, who was commissioned as a committee of one by the club for the purpose, produced a list of the Senior and Junior Medal winners from 1910 to 1932. Later secretaries extended the list to 1940. There is some hint of confusion as to who should have won the Junior Medal in 1931, which might have inspired the club to commission Berg to collect the information in one place. The list presented below is consistent with Berg's list.

The list below includes the years from 1898 to 1942. Winning scores collected from the minutes are listed for those years when they are reported. For some reason 1911 is missing from the minutes. They were however found in a davenport newspaper of the time. The winners in the years 1941 and 1942 are also not given in the minutes, but those years should be included in this list. The distance changed for 1943 and after, so 1898 to 1942 constitutes a complete series under one set of rules.

The contest was conducted over a 7-meet outdoor season at the 200-yard range at Schuetzenpark from 1898 through 1937. Beginning in 1938 it was conducted at the 200-yard Range on Jersey Ridge Road. The targets used were the <sup>3</sup>/<sub>4</sub> inch German ring targets we use today, except that the black was 12 inches in diameter. In 1943 all shooting, both summer and winter seasons, was moved to the Davenport Police 50-foot indoor range.

The rule that if a shooter was absent one month a make-up honor target could be shot the following month was adopted in 1928. Prior to that, the Junior Medal was awarded twice to shooters who had shot only 6 of the 7 times.

The maximum score recorded in this time was by Ed Muhl who scored 425 points of 525 possible in 1934.

A Ladies' Medal was contributed for three years by Tobe Watkins and was awarded in 1921 to 1923. This was awarded in addition to the Senior and Junior Medals: in 1921 Mrs. Strohbehn won both the Junior and Ladies' Medals. The winners of the Ladies' Medal are listed below after the list of Senior and Junior Medal winners.

Year	Senior Medal	Rings	Junior Medal	Rings
1898	C. W. Ranzow	430	Chas. F Denkman	392
1899	Emil Berg	442	Frank Berg	370
1900	Frank Berg	418	Jacob Nabstedt	377
1901	J. D. Regennitter	415	Alb. Brockmann	383
1902	Frank Berg	427	Henry Schroeder	355
1903	C. W. Ranzow	426	C. Jansen	383
1904	J. D. Regennitter	425	Oscar Denkmann	386
1905	Edw. Berger	440	T. M. Watkins	398
1906	C. Jansen	435	Harry Martens	404
1907	C. Jansen	447	H. C. Claussen	414
1908	Emil Berg	462	J. B. Hayungs	436
1909	Frank Berg	439	Fred Strobehn	422
1910	Frank Berg	445	H. E. Jameyson	433
1911	H. C. Claussen	446	A. C. Bielenberg	
1912	Emil Berg	445	W. H. Gosch	443
1913	C. Jansen	464	Geo. Conger	444
1914	C. Jansen	459	J. F. Nabstedt	421
1915	Frank Berg	450	Julius Arp	404
1916	Tobe Watkins	458	C. Naeckel	415
1917	C. F. Denkman	460	Albert Sindt	429
1918	C. Jansen	449	J. Fuhlendorf	431
1919	C. Jansen	468	H. E. Wade	417
1920	C. Jansen	471	Hugo Ranzow	377
1921	C. Jansen	446	Mrs. F. Strohbehn	366
1922	C. Jansen	452	Virginia Watkins	293 (6)
1923	C. F. Denkman	447	Ray Vossberg	321 (6)
1924	C. Jansen	442	Wm Feddersen	257
1925	C. Jansen	443	Henry Kraft	357
1926	J. F. Nabstedt	424	Wm. Muhl	437
1927	C. Jansen	445	Ed. Muhl	437
	Ed. Muhl	454	O. J. Rohlf	429
1929	Ed. Muhl	462	H. L. Frazier	463
1930	Wm. Muhl	467	W. O. Grundmeier	447
1931	Ed. Muhl		Gus. Muhl	
	Ed. Muhl	473	Julius Muhl	459
	Ed. Muhl		H. W. Holdorf	
1934	Ed. Muhl	475	J. W. Clark	452

1935	Ed. Muhl		Carl Wazac	
1936	Wm. Muhl	379	W. J. Bleuer	384
1937	W. J. Bleuer	432	W. G. Crabb	439
1938	Frank Berg	428	P. K. Lillibridge	445
1939	P. K. Lillibridge		W. A. Hall	
1940	P. K. Lillibridge		Clarence Hill	
1941				
1942				

## Ladies Medal - Winners

1921	Mrs. F. Strohbehn	366
1922	Mrs. F. Strohbehn	371
1923	Virginia Watkins	298